Fruit Kabobs & Strawberry S’Mores

Steak, Veggie and Fruit Kabobs

Steak, Veggie and Fruit Kabobs

Last night I decided to finally use the Kabob set I bought at Goodwill for $3.99, a steal in my opinion!

I made steak kabobs. Even though I’m trying to cut back on my sugar consumption, I decided to officially start that NEXT week, so I just used a basic marinade I found on the Internet which was basically lemon juice, soy sauce, garlic, cinnamon and a few other random ingredients. To me, the marinade is basically there just to tenderize the meat. Then, as the kabobs were cooking, I brushed some BBQ sauce over the steak every few minutes. The end result was absolutely delish.

Of course when you make kabobs you need to grill some veggies. We kept it simple with red and yellow bell peppers and white onions. Sweet onions would have been much better, but The Husband couldn’t find any at the store. :\

The real “experiment” was fruit kabobs though. I had an orange, some bananas and a package of strawberries in my kitchen and I thought to myself, “I wonder how these would taste on the grill?”

Well, the oranges were pretty blah. But the orange I had was old and not that great to begin with. Regardless, I will not attempt grilling oranges again! The banana was pretty good – The Husband enjoyed it the most. He likes very ripe bananas though and I prefer my bananas to still be a bit green. Grilling the banana simply made the banana sweeter. The real winner though was the strawberry. Heating the strawberry really brought out the natural sweetness. I went back for more.

And then comes dessert. Remember how I mentioned that I want to cut back on sugar? Well…. S’mores don’t count, right? They’re like, a summer right of passage.

Add a grilled strawberry and take your S’more to a whole new level. It tastes to me like chocolate covered strawberries. I only tried the one, but I may try it again with no marshmallows to see how it differs.

Strawberry S'mores

Strawberry S’mores

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Brenda Whiteside

     /  August 9, 2014

    Oh wow, would never have thought of grilling strawberries and bananas. I have to try this. And your smores are heavenly!!

    Reply
  2. jkbisker

     /  January 13, 2015

    Strawberry S’mores??!! That’s tremendous!

    Reply

Leave a comment